SUMTER, SC – Morris College will celebrate the inauguration of its 10th President, Dr. Leroy Staggers and all are welcome to attend. The investiture ceremony will be held Friday, April 12 at 11 a.m. in the Neal-Jones Auditorium. Following the ceremony, a luncheon will be held at 1 p.m. in the Garrick-Boykin Human Development Center.

Several notable individuals will be present during the event. Sumter Mayor the Honorable Joseph T. McElveen, Jr. South Carolina Senate District 25 the Honorable J. Thomas McElveen, III, Sumter County Chairman the Honorable James T. McClain and Claflin University President Dr. Henry N. Tisdale will bring greetings followed by faculty and staff, alumni, and the Student Government Association President.

The Presidential Charge will be given by President and CEO of the United Negro College Fund Dr. Michael Lomax.

According to a press release by the University, by unanimous decision, the Morris College Board of Trustees named Dr. Leroy Staggers, President-Elect until July 1, 2018. The board of trustees identified a Presidential Search Committee and initiated search for a permanent president in May of 2017 following the late Dr. Luns D. Richardson’s retirement after 43 years of devoted leadership Dr. Leroy Staggers served as interim President from July 1, 2017, to present.

Joining the Morris College family in 1993, Dr. Staggers, whose passion for students’ intellectual growth, has provided dedicated service to Morris College for roughly 24 years. Most recently, he has served 16 years as the institution’s Academic Dean. As Academic Dean, Dr. Staggers was responsible for the supervision of all academic programs, all full-time and part-time faculty members as well as all academic support instructional programs. He worked very closely with Dr. Richardson on all aspects of Morris College’s reaffirmation of accreditation efforts.

Before joining the Morris College family, he served as Vice President of Academic Affairs, Associate Professor of English, and Director of Faculty Development for Barber-Scotia College in Concord, NC. Additionally, he has served as instructor of English and Reading at Alabama State University in Montgomery, AL., and chairman of the Division of Humanities and Assistant Professor of English at Voorhees College in Denmark, SC.

This event is expected to reach capacity in the Neal-Jones Auditorium. There will be an overflow viewing area with a Livestream in the O.R. Reuben Chapel and Religious Center. You can follow the inauguration ceremony online by using the following hashtags: #MorrisInauguration #MOCOInauguration #MOCO10thPresident. A link to the live stream will be available soon.

Follow the inauguration on social media using the following hashtags:




For more information about the inauguration Dr. Leroy Staggers, visit

About Morris College

Established in 1908, Morris College is a historically black, co-educational, liberal arts college, operated by the South Carolina Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention. Located in Sumter, S.C. Morris’ mission is to provide students with the intellect and personal development needed to enhance their lives while preparing students for the path in which they choose to pursue.


ROCK HILL, SC – Clinton College, a historically black private college, is scheduled to inaugurate the 13th president Dr. Lester A. McCorn on Friday, November 9, 2018, at 11:00 A.M., at the Kenneth Monroe Transformation Center in Rock Hill, SC.

On August 15, 2018, the Clinton College Board of Trustees announced Dr. Lester A. McCorn as the 13th President. Dr. McCorn has been the acting president for the past year and has more than three decades of leadership experience. He joins Clinton College after serving as senior pastor at Pennsylvania Avenue A.M.E Zion Church in Baltimore, Maryland.

Dr. McCorn succeeds Dr. Elaine Copeland, who retired in 2018 after leading as president for 16 years.

The celebration will kickoff on Thursday, November 8, 2018, with an Inaugural Symposium at 11:00 A.M. featuring Dr. Walter E. Fluker. On Friday, November 9, 2018, the day will begin with an Inaugural Prayer Breakfast at 8:30 A.M., followed by the Investiture Ceremony at 11:00 A.M.

To RVSP, visit–rock-hill/clinton-college/.

NASHVILLE, TN – Fisk University will inaugurate Kevin D. Rome, Sr., Ph.D. as the 16th president of the university on Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. at the Fisk Memorial Chapel.

According to a press release from the university, in Spring 2017, the Fisk University Board of Trustees selected Rome after nearly an eight-month process that involved engagement forums with alumni clubs in multiple states, on-campus faculty and staff forums, and communications with key stakeholders of the university community. Rome began her term as president on July 1, 2017.

Before the presidency at Fisk, Rome served as president of Lincoln University of Missouri from July 2013 – June 2017. With over 20 years in higher education, Rome has served in administrative roles as vice chancellor for student affairs and enrollment management at North Carolina Central University, vice president for student services at Morehouse College, vice president for campus life at Clayton State University, and assistant vice chancellor for student life and diversity at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis. A native of Columbus, GA, Rome holds a bachelor’s degree from Morehouse College, a master’s degree from the University of Georgia and a doctorate degree from the University of Texas at Austin.

The investiture ceremony will be a part of a week-long celebration of events, set to run April 3-8, 2018. An abbreviated listing of events is as follows:

Investiture Ceremony
Date: Thursday, April 5, 2018
Time: 1:00pm
Location: Fisk Memorial Chapel
1000 17th Avenue, North
Nashville, TN 37208
Free and Open to the public

Inauguration Scholarship Gala
Date: Friday, April 6, 2018
Reception: 7:00pm
Event Begins: 8:00pm
Location: Music City Center | Karl F. Dean Grand Ballroom
201 5th Avenue, South
Nashville, TN 37203
Cost: $100.00 – To purchase tickets, please visit

For more information about the inauguration and the schedule of events, please visit or contact Willie Jude, Associate Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Emerging Initiatives by e-mail at or telephone at 615-329-8595.