What are HBCUs?

The Title III of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Congress officially defined a Historically Black College and University (HBCU) as institutions of higher education in the United States that were established before 1964 with the intention of primary serving the African American community. HBCUs offer culture, a rich history and rigorous academic programs. They prepare students for leadership and life after graduation.

There are currently 101 HBCUs in the United States, including private and public institutions, community and four-year institutions, medical and law schools. Most were created in the aftermath of the American Civil War and are in the former slave states. All HBCUs play a critical role in the American system of higher education.

Of the 101 HBCU institutions today, 27 offer doctoral programs and 52 provide graduate degree programs at the master’s level. At the undergraduate level, 83 of the HBCUs offer a bachelor’s degree program and 38 of the schools offer associate degrees. Roughly 10% of the HBCUs offered online degrees in 2013. HBCUs disproportionately enroll low-income, first-generation and academically underprepared college students.

Click the link below to learn more about each of the HBCUs by state.