Five historically black college and university (HBCU) presidents were selected as recipients of the AAC&U-Cengage Inclusion Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to currently serving campus presidents in recognition of their outstanding leadership to advance liberal education.

In acknowledgement of AAC&U and Cengage’s shared commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion, the Inclusion Scholarship recognizes presidential leaders from under-represented groups whose efforts have reduced equity gaps, improved inclusion and belonging for minoritized students, and/or promoted diversity in hiring practices.

In recognition of their accomplishments as inclusive leaders in higher education, recipients will receive a one-year, complimentary AAC&U campus membership and a one-year complimentary membership to AAC&U’s Presidents’ Trust.

2021 HBCU Scholarship Recipients:

Roslyn Clark Artis, president of Benedict College
Karrie G. Dixon, Chancellor of Elizabeth City State University
Walter M. Kimbrough, president of Dillard University
Ivy R. Taylor, president of Rust College
Dwaun J. Warmack, president of Claflin University

See the full list of scholarship recipients here.


About AAC&U
ACC&U is the leading national association dedicated to advancing the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AAC&U now comprises over 1,200 member institutions-including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>